A Comparison(?) of Edu Sites

So for my TA I had to look at two different sites and analyze them. At first I didn’t get much further than their home pages. It seems as though most education sites these days are very political, and I get it, a lot of things teachers have to deal with are very dependent on what is going on in the courts, and the courts very consistently do not please everyone, or anyone in many cases. And as we are just leaving an election year, and the most political stress I’ve been under in my entire life, politics are EVERYWHERE. As I’ve gotten older, I mean I’m technically an adult now (yikes), and as the world has progressed, I’ve tried to be a good US citizen and keep up with at least the basics of what is going on in the country and in the Supreme Courts/Senate/Congress etc. But, politics are so incredibly boring for me. I have never been able to understand how people find it interesting beyond the psychology of a bunch of old, white, men, sitting at outdated wooden tables for hours on end, talking about acronyms that we should probably know, but will never be given the full truth about. So, anyway, these politics in this post are supposed to be about education and I guess I’d better get to it. SO- I looked at these two websites: National Alliance for Public Charter Schools and Students For Education Reform.

National Alliance for Public Charter Schools was a little weird for me because I didn’t really think that charter schools were public, but upon a simple Google search, I figured it out. Charter schools are actually independent schools run by teachers and funded by tax dollars, and are a little more free academically to ‘do their own thing.’ This particular site is very focused on the court room aspect of the politics of education. It uses acronyms and the letters numbers and weird symbol that I associate with Sims money, but the government uses to distinguish something or the other I’m not really clear about? Maybe legislation, bills, or amendments? Anyway, they focus on educating people on what is going on in the courts across the country which can be incredibly helpful, but also incredibly boring to even look at.

Students For Education Reform is a little easier on the eyes. They have pictures of multicultural students demonstrating their right to gather peacefully and protest what they believe in. This site is much more student oriented. They are based in Minnesota, where they have filed a law suit against the state for “robbing their children of their constitutional right to a “thorough and efficient” education.” So, we’re back in the courts, but this site is much more readable for people who are not teachers/administrators. I really liked that this one is focused more directly on the students and their right to have a good education. This site is also geared toward helping college students gain skills in being active forces in the political world, by helping them find the tools and resources they need to organize and effectively demand the access to their rights.

So, enough with politics and comparisons, both are great websites for students/teachers/administrators(/and even politicians) to see what is going on, how people are feeling about that stuff, and support in their efforts to better reform schools for the better of our students. That’s it, that’s all I’ve got. Signing off, Jaile.

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

