What Should I Take Away?

Cindy had us read this poem, Keeping Quiet by Pablo Neruda. I am pretty familiar with Neruda‘s works, although, sometimes I don’t know what the hell I should be taking away from it. As with most things, I read his works at different points in my life, and I take something else away from what I read. So you can imagine my disgruntlement when Cindy said, “right now immediately. Don’t just skim it, or you’ll miss the point.” I’m not really sure if disgruntlement is truly a word, but spell check isn’t screaming at me, and it felt appropriate, so we roll on. Typically I think I understand poetry pretty well, as well as any 19 year old anyway. But through my poetry class last semester and Nancy Henke’s classes, I have found that sometimes, I’m just too literal to get the full rendition of meaning out of a poem. Having said that, I’m not really sure what I got from Keeping Quiet. Except that I agree with Pablo when he says,

If we were not so single-minded
about keeping our lives moving,
and for once could do nothing,
perhaps a huge silence
might interrupt this sadness
of never understanding ourselves
and of threatening ourselves with death.

In the not so distant past, I have found myself struggling with the world being too loud, too sad, and thought about how nice it would be just to have some peace in the realms of dirt. But, I also struggle with dismissing the fact that this world is so beautiful, so inspiring, and so worth living to see. So maybe, just maybe, Pablo is suggesting that we all just sit still for a minute and be quiet, so that we can reset our perspectives of the world, and see that this is a world worth living on.

Or maybe his grand-kids I assume he had at this time, were just really freaking loud, as kids often are. Either way, excellent piece of poetry, 10/10 would recommend reading it, 10/10 will read again.

I hope you’re having a better day than I. Signing off, Jaile.

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

