More Research!

There are many groups of marginalized groups of students, so I did some research on how to support international students. I found this article from a University in Illinois called Supporting International Students in the Classroom: A Guide for Faculty & Instructors.

I liked this article because it cuts straight to the point, and gives you many tips for supporting international students. By international students I mean students who are not from America, and are here to learn in American schools. I had only seen one international student in person once before college and I think it’s crucial that all teachers know how to support those students. 

One great tip that was given is to turn English subtitles on when watching a movie or video so that students can see what is being said, American accents can be hard for Americans to understand, we can’t expect international students to be perfect at it. 

 The next one I liked is to use cue words like: what, when, and where when assigning homework and tests. By focusing on exactly what the question is asking international students will have a much better time figuring out the assignment rather than trying to figure out American (or whatever country you’re in) colloquialisms and traditionally: vague English teacher questions. 

Finally, it is incredibly important to be patient. That’s right. The easiest thing you can do. There will be language barriers, cultural barriers, and many more that will have to be dealt with and all parties are going to get frustrated. Keep your calm, let the student take their time to explain things to you the best they can, and be an active listener. Really listen to what they’re saying. It can be hard, but usually with some context clues, anything can be solved. That’s right, context clues exist in other languages and outside of book. You’re welcome. 

Anyway, I hope this was helpful, I know it was for me. 

Signing off, Jaile. 

2 thoughts on “More Research!

  1. I appreciate this post so much! At my high school, the majority of the students were immigrants and/or their first language was not English, and I truly believe that if the teachers knew how to support them better, they would have been able to thrive. Being a student is hard, learning a language is hard, adapting to a culture is hard, being a teenager? forget it, having to do all of those things simultaneously is so incredibly difficult. Teachers need to know how to support those students.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I COMPLETELY agree, as I’m sure you’ve figured out. I don’t remember if I wrote this in my initial blog post, but I believe the first step in supporting ANY students, especially ESL students, is to be patient and considerate of each and every student. If your students feel like you aren’t willing to put in the time, they aren’t going to feel like they need to put in the time either. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

